Live Music

There’s nothing quite like a live music show, a crowd of people enjoying themselves to the ebb and flow of a performer.

In this case it was the British Summer Time festival in Hyde Park. (London) Six days all with different line ups and I went to yesterdays show (1/7/17). It was spectacular, great crowds and amazing music. Truly a great day, unspoiled by lovely weather or the occasional drunken reveller. I went mainly for Green Day and The Hives, but managed to see a few other bands play including The Stranglers!! (An old fave i’ve always wanted to see)

Started out with Stiff Little fingers, who are still an amazing band and you can tell were the inspiration for many groups since. Β (Green Day especially) This was followed by a new band called Tigress who impressed me and was great to see get a decent crowd. Definitely recommend people check them out, i’m going to get their EP soon myself. πŸ™‚

20170701_135509.jpg

Tigress:20170701_140133.jpg

After a quick stop for some awesome fries:Β 20170701_143049.jpg

It was on to The Hives and Gogol Bordello, two amazing bands that electrified the crowd and got everyone dancing. I could say so much about both of these acts but to spare the time and detail, i’ll just say they’re both amazing performers that play infectious live sets. You’ll struggle not to at least move a little to either. πŸ™‚

After this, i went to seek out shade as it was getting fairly hot and many others had the same idea. During this period a marching carnival came past much to everyone’s amusement! After a short rest, Rancid took to the stage and played their hits for the crowd. The sun was luckily behind cloud cover at that point so many people joined in and revelled.

20170701_155049.jpg20170701_165826.jpg

 

It was halfway through their set that i noticed The Stranglers were about to perform on another stage. So i quickly navigated through the crowds to get a good view. I’m glad i did too as they were impressive, much more than i imagined too. Always been a favourite of mine and it was a dream come true to see them live. πŸ˜€ Right next to that stage was a hotdog stand with quite possibly the best display board ever. So i had to get myself a Billie Dog Armstrong! πŸ˜€ (it was delicious too)

This was soon followed with the announcement that Green Day were soon to take the main stage and the crowds were already gathering. I managed to make my way through to within 100m to the stage and ate my hotdog. Then with a roar, they were in and played to the crowd. Cheering us on and getting the crowd to sing along and even get on stage for a lucky few. (One girl even got to play guitar with them and was given the guitar as a gift!) :O

20170701_211655[1].jpg20170701_21331220170701_212731

They played for over a solid 2 hours, with an encore on top and the crowd cheered them in throughout. All the hits, new and old were played and sung. So much love between the band and the crowd last night it was beautiful to see. But man were my legs dead when it came time to leave, I almost felt like getting a taxi when i left the area haha. somehow managed to walk back to the hotel though, still singing songs from earlier in the day. πŸ™‚

20170701_232806[1].jpg

Hope you’ve all had a good weekend, anyone else been to a concert or festival lately? πŸ™‚

(Edit) Just thought i’d add this, being a bit of a loner I usually go to these public events on my own. Which can seem odd to many people when I tell them, but it doesn’t take any enjoyment away from me I can tell you! πŸ˜€ Yes I understand some people wouldn’t think of it and would go with a friend or a group to enjoy it. But sometimes I like to do my own thing and not have to wait around for others. If nothing else, I enjoy my independence plus it gives a chance to meet new people. πŸ˜‰

Til next time!

– Stew

 

P.S Check out my previous blog about Music πŸ˜‰

2 thoughts on “Live Music

Leave a Reply

