Getting back into it.

Swimming has always been an enjoyable activity for me, something i’ve always loved doing since I first went in the water as a kid and used to be pretty good at it. Probably have some old swimming badges or certificates in a box from my school days and swimming club haha. But as I got older and started working full time, I had less time for it and as such went less frequently. Until at some point I stopped going altogether.

But earlier this year I decided I wanted to get back into it, mostly for the enjoyment aspect but also it’s a great way to exercise. Plus i’m getting older, with all the aches and pains that age brings, it felt like a good idea. 🙂 So i’ve spent an hour every week or two going swimming, although that first trip left me aching all over like crazy. But I persisted and luckily after a couple of sessions i’m not aching much if at all the day after. It’s been about 3 months since I started now and i’m feeling better in myself and I think i’ve improved since then too. That first time was horrendous, I must have looked like a flounder at first haha. But you soon remember and start to enjoy it again, it’s a great feeling and is very good all round exercise.

I highly recommend it to anyone, no matter your age. It’s enjoyable and beneficial to you. Plus you can go at your own pace and as often or as little as suits you. Of course this doesn’t just go for swimming, but any exercise or activity you enjoy or used to enjoy as a kid. There’s no age limits or boundaries to enjoyable activities. Long as you’re not hurting anyone, or mean harm to anyone then why not pick it up again? It doesn’t even have to be an active hobby, maybe you always liked to read, write or paint but don’t find time for it. I suggest you make time, it’s worthwhile in the end. I know that I don’t really want to look back on my life when i’m older and think “I wish I spent more time doing that”.  This year i’ve felt why should we wait and think: ‘I’ll make time for that later’ when we could just as easily make time for it now. Life moves pretty fast as Ferris Bueller stated, so make sure you don’t miss it. 🙂

ferris-bueller-life-moves-pretty-fast-quote-12-17-best-ideas-about-on-pinterest

Until next time, just keep swimming. 😉

Stew

2 thoughts on “Getting back into it.

Leave a Reply

